slider top

20th Annual Media for a Just Society Awards To Honor Andrew Solomon

The Media for a Just Society (MJS) Awards are are the only national recognition of media whose work furthers public understanding of criminal justice, juvenile justice, child welfare, and adult protection issues. This year, more than 100 submissions and nominations from 38 different outlets are competing for awards in print, web, and broadcast journalism categories, as well as film and literature.

This year the MJS Awards will honor Andrew Solomon, author of the landmark book Far From the Tree, with the Distinguished Achievement Award in Nonfiction. Mr. Solomon will join the National Council on Crime & Delinquency, the MJS judges, and award winners in seven categories at the MJS Awards ceremony.

The accomplished panel of judges includes eminent professionals from the fields of journalism, television, juvenile justice, and philanthropy:

  • Sonja Sohn, star of HBO’s The Wire and ABC’s Body of Proof, and founder of ReWired for Change;
  • Daniel Klaidman, national political and White House correspondent for Newsweek and The Daily Beast and author of Kill or Capture;
  • Cory Johnson, Editor, Bloomberg Television;
  • Julio Marcial, Program Director, The California Wellness Foundation;
  • Liz Ryan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Campaign for Youth Justice; and
  • Quinn Delaney, founder and President, Akonadi Foundation.

The awards ceremony will be held on October 2, 2013, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm, at The W Hotel, San Francisco.