Human Rights Watch Film Festival: “Far from the Tree” Screening & Webinar


slider top

Human Rights Watch Film Festival

The United Kingdom edition of the 2020 Human Rights Watch Film Festival is making a digital return for two weeks, following the festival’s early closure in March due to the Covid-19 health crisis.

From May 22 to June 5, nine international titles — among them, Far From the Tree, based on Andrew Solomon’s award-winning book of the same name — will be available for streaming by viewers across the United Kingdom and Ireland via Curzon Home Cinema. Digital audiences also have the opportunity to join live a interactive discussion for each title, featuring the filmmakers, Human Rights Watch experts, and special guests.

A showing and discussion for Far From the Tree is scheduled for Sunday, May 31. The film will commence streaming at 7:00 PM BST (2:00PM EDT/11:00AM PDT), and a Q&A session with Andrew Solomon, will commence at 8:30 PM BST (3:30PM EDT/12:30PM PDT).

U.S. residents may stream Far From the Tree via Amazon Prime (U.S.), Google Play, Hulu, iTunes, Vudu, and YouTube. Viewers worldwide are welcome to join the Q&A.

For more information, and to register for the Q&A, please visit the Human Rights Watch Film Festival
website.

Photo: Participant Media

Leah Smith and Joe Stramondo in Far From the Tree. Photo: Participant Media

Upcoming Events

View All

05-27-2020

United Against Hate: A Day of Solidarity

05-31-2020

Human Rights Watch Film Festival: “Far from the Tree” Screening & Webinar

06-02-2020

Livestream: Andrew Solomon & E. Kay Trimberger Discuss Adoption & “Creole Son”