slider top

Articles by Andrew Solomon: Book Reviews & Commentary


Jan 2017

Diving Into Hell

>Merkin is capable of being at once melodramatic and finely nuanced; she has so many good phrases about depression that it’s hard to choose among them.

Nov 2016

Best Books of 2016

Writers choose their best reads of 2016.

Nov 2016

A public hospital that truly served the public over the centuries

Doctors at Bellevue have since championed some of what came to be seen as best practices and some of what came to be seen as the worst.

Aug 2016

My 10 Favorite Books

...

May 2016

The Book That Made Me

Bishop's words are compressed, meaning squeezed into every phrase. Some poems are humorous; some are quietly agonising; all are deeply wise and subtly compassionate. They ...

May 2016

When we unlock the secrets of our genes, what do we do with that knowledge?

Review of "The Gene: An Intimate History," by Siddhartha Mukherjee.

Apr 2016

Literature About Medicine May Be All That Can Save Us

A new generation of doctor writers is investigating the mysteries of the medical profession, exploring the vital intersection between science and art.

Feb 2016

The Good Death, When Breath Becomes Air and More

Life would feel short even if we could expect to live two centuries.

Nov 2015

Book Review: Dear Mr. You

“Dear Mr. You” reminds us what a glorious business life can be even at its worst, if you can tug it into the right frame of view.

May 2015

On the Move, by Oliver Sacks

With “On the Move,” Sacks has finally presented himself as he has presented others: as both fully vulnerable and an object of curiosity.